AAF-Akron Silver Medal

AAF-Akron Silver Medal

The AAF-Akron Silver Medal is the industry's most prestigious advertising award that recognizes men and women in the Greater Akron area. It is a lifetime achievement award that recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to our advertising community.

This is your opportunity to nominate a colleague, local icon, mentor, vendor or anyone you feel has made significant contributions to our industry and community.

Some important points:

  • You do not have to be a member of AAF-Akron to nominate someone.
  • The candidate does not have to be a member of AAF-Akron.
  • This lifetime achievement award is a big honor.
  • The recipient will be recognized at the Akron-Canton American Advertising Awards on Feb. 22, 2019.

A panel of judges will select the Silver Medal recipient using the following criteria:

• Contribution to His/Her Company
Must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service.

• Creative Ability
Must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in his/her field.

• Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising
Must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

• Contributions to the Community
Should be active in other groups dedicated to human or social welfare in their community.



Previous Silver Medal Recipients

Janet VonGunten (Retired): Veritiv

Doug Smiley (Retired): SmileyHanchulak Marketing Communications

Jack DeLeo (Retired): Hitchcock Fleming & Associates, Inc.

Fred Anthony: Cuyahoga Falls General Hospital

Roger Berk, Sr. (Retired): WAKR/WAEZ/TV-23

Kitty G. Brown: Freelance Copywriter/Voiceover Talent

Stanley Buda, Jr.: Hitchcock Fleming & Associates, Inc.

Mary Lou Ciborek: WNIR

Robert S. Crawford (Retired): The Crawford Company

Tim Edwards: Inventure Place

Daniel J. Forrer (Retired): Ohio Edison

John DeVries (Retired): The Crawford Company

Richard Harris (Retired): The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

R. Cyrus Hitchcock (Retired): Hitchcock Fleming & Associates, Inc.

Jack Houlette (Retired): The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

Leo LeFort (Retired): Hesselbart & Mitten

Edward Lynch (Retired): Akron Beacon Journal

Victor C. Pavona: ETA Systems

Dixie Vinez: FirstMerit Corporation


Questions? Email [email protected].