News from AAF-Akron

AAF-Akron Receives National Recognition for Club Achievement

AAF-Akron Receives National Recognition for Club Achievement
Announces New Board Leadership for 2018-2020

The Akron chapter of the American Advertising Federation (AAF-Akron) won three 2018 National Club Achievement awards at the annual American Advertising Federation (AAF) competition. The awards were pre

sented to AAF-Akron Executive Director Cecilia Sveda during ADMERICA 2018, AAF’s national conference, held earlier this summer in Chicago, IL.

The National Club Achievement Competition is designed to recognize outstanding accomplishments of AAF-affiliated advertising clubs, showcasing the programs and projects they undertake each year. There are eight categories of entry, including Advertising Education, Communications, Club Operations, Diversity and Multicultural Initiatives, Programs and Public Service.

For the third consecutive year, AAF-Akron earned a:

  • 2nd Place in Club Operations for policies, procedures and leadership development that excel and contribute to the organization’s operations

  • 3rd Place in Communications for its effective and creative communications materials

  • 3rd Place in Programs for its efforts in fostering actively interested membership, well-attended meetings and membership growth

AAF-Akron was one of just 40 clubs from across the country honored this year.

“The National Club Achievement awards recognize the great contributions of AAF-Akron’s deserving and dedicated volunteer board, committees and partners.” said Sveda, “Yet they also bring attention to the outstanding Greater Akron advertising community – at a national level.”

The acceptance of the National Club Achievement awards marked the final achievement of the 2016-2018 AAF-Akron board, whose term ended on June 30.

New AAF-Akron Executive Team (left to right): Melissa Olson, president; Steve Govern, chairman; and Dan Kearsey, vice president


The new board, serving 2018-2020, began on July 1 and includes:

  • Melissa Olson, President
    Manager of Student Affairs, Myers School of Art & Design, The University of Akron


  • Dan Kearsey, VP/Programs Assistant Team Leader
    Senior Graphic Designer, Kent State University


  • Josh Surgeon, Treasurer
    President, Six5Creative, LLC


  • Melanie Jones, Secretary
    Director of Human Resources, Geometry


  • Steve Govern, Chairman/Partnership
    Creative Manager, WBC Group, LLC


  • Erin Leslie, Membership Team Leader
    President and Creative Director, Paper Mill Studio


  • Brianna Kelly, Membership Assistant Team Leader
    Marketing Specialist, Pritt Entertainment Group


  • Neil Nagy, Programs Team Leader
    Content Marketing Analyst, FirstEnergy


  • Kris Barnette, Programs Assistant Team Leader
    CEO, All Good MKTG


  • Jason Zehner, ADDY Team Leader
    Senior Graphic Designer, Kent State University


  • Michael K. Carlson, ADDY Assistant Team Leader
    Senior Graphic Designer, TRIAD


  • Jacob Farrar, Education Team Leader
    Director, The Taylor Institute for Direct Marketing, The University of Akron


  • Michael Pontikos, Education Assistant Team Leader
    Owner, Sokitnop Design, and Senior Lecturer, Youngstown State University


  • Luke Messner, Partnership Team Leader
    President, TKM


About AAF-Akron
The Akron Chapter of The American Advertising Federation (AAF-Akron) was founded as the Advertising Club of Akron in 1945. AAF-Akron’s efforts include programs that educate members and help them conduct business better, government relations on behalf of members, educational programs to help provide a more prepared and diverse workforce, and promoting recognition of the economic and social value of advertising as an industry. AAF-Akron is a member of AAF District 5 and the national AAF.

Follow AAF-Akron on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates or visit

Return to list